Demo Destruction

I recently visited the toy store where I usually buy my scale models. There were quite a few beautiful models (from Tomica, Matchbox, and Hot Wheels) but I had to refrain from buying them because they were too expensive or not in the themes I usually follow. But these two models I definitely had to buy.

When I was quite young, my dentist had some old comic books in the waiting area of the clinic. They were quite old, possibly 1970s DC Comics. I don’t remember what the stories were, but I do remember that there was an advertisement for a series of toy cars that would have their pieces fly apart when you smashed them, and you could put back the pieces together and smash them again. I thought that was quite cool, but I never could find any toys like that.

These two models that I found (Flat Iron and Blind-Sided) don’t break into pieces, but I suppose this is the closest I’ll be able to get to have scale model cars that look wrecked but are in mint condition.

The two were in a Demo Destruction 5-pack (from 2023). The 5-pack cost around 650 pesos, which is a little more expensive than 5 individual mainline models. The models in the pack were Flat Iron, Repo Duty, Cruise Bruiser, Blind-Sided, and Project Speeder.

I’m not a fan of the Repo Duty or the Project Speeder, but I do like the Cruise Bruiser because it reminds me of the demolition derbies I used to watch as a kid.

The Repo Duty can carry Flat Iron or Blind-Sided if they are carried by their rear wheels. If they are carried by their front wheels, the metal body hits the floor, preventing the rear wheels from turning.

Flat Iron and Blind-Sided have metal bodies and plastic bases. The wheels turn freely.

2 thoughts on “Demo Destruction”

    1. When I first saw brand new scale models of cars that were dirty and broken (like the Johnny Lightning Barn Finds), I thought that was pretty stupid. And I initially didn’t understand the interest in rat rods (especially those that had a lot of rust). But one time I saw a rusted metal piece of furniture and realized that it would be better to not do any restoration on it; the “imperfections” gave it “character.” So now I understand. The “defects” tell a story, and this gives value to the object.

Leave a comment