Tomica Subaru Impreza WRX STI 4door

I bought this Tomica Subaru Impreza WRX STI 4door around one and a half weeks ago at the Toys “R” Us in Robinsons Place Naga. There were two units for sale.

At 500 pesos, it was not that expensive, considering that a typical Tomica costs around 200 to 300 pesos, with premium models costing around 400 pesos. I noted that a previous price tag had been removed, which I took to mean that it was previously being sold for a higher price.

The model had a plastic base and what I assume is a metal body covered in what I assume is chrome paint. I had absolutely no idea how rare the model was, but I finally decided to buy it because of the plain looking box. My previous experience with Tomica models is that the rarer the item, the simpler the box.

After I bought it, I searched the internet for more information about it. I didn’t find much, but unofficial sources say that this model was never meant to be for sale; it was a give-away during special events. A few of these were being sold. One selling for HK$ 125 (around 800 pesos) had been sold, and I think another one selling for around 900 pesos had also been sold. One priced at US$78.80 (around 4000 pesos) is still available.

I passed by the same store this afternoon and the other unit was still unsold.

5 thoughts on “Tomica Subaru Impreza WRX STI 4door”

Leave a Reply

