’71 Nissan Skyline 2000 GTX

When I was young, I probably had around two dozen scale models to play with. Most of them were the lead characters in stories I would play in my mind. My Matchbox Chevy Van was the A-Team van; my Matchbox Pontiac T-Roof was KITT. But I remember having one car that was so ordinary that it was always a background character. It was a metallic beige sedan, most likely a Matchbox Ford Cortina (Mark IV) from 1982. I don’t have it any more, but I think its front doors opened. I liked that it had metallic paint and that it was an ordinary car.

A few weeks ago, I found a Matchbox ’71 Nissan Skyline 2000 GTX that reminded me of my metallic sedan. I normally collect only weird-looking cars or, on rare occasions, muscle cars, but I felt that I had to buy this ordinary-looking car, perhaps to remind me of the times I actually played with my scale models.

3 thoughts on “’71 Nissan Skyline 2000 GTX”

  1. It was always important to have some cars for the ‘bad guys’ to drive. This would be a good choice. Still, I like this model a lot. Does that make me a bad guy?

Leave a Reply

