’77 Pontiac Firebird

firebird
When I was a child, my favorite scale model was a Hot Wheels Pontiac Firebird (most likely the Hot Bird). (I blogged about it here.) I have always wanted to buy another one, but it seems that the last mainline Hot Bird was made in 1989, and all the ’77 Pontiac Firebirds that I saw for sale were very expensive. I’m glad to say that today I was able to buy the first mainline Hot Wheels ’77 Pontiac Firebird T/A (and at a 10% discount, too).

firebir0
For some reason, the base of the car is labeled “77 Pontiac Firebird T/A” but the card is labeled “’77 Pontiac Firebird.” The copyright date on the bottom is 2015, but this model seems to have been first made in 2008. A small Hot Wheels logo is on the door, a Firebird emblem is on the C-pillar, and the words “TRANS AM” are on the side behind the front wheel, and on the hood near the front. Although I prefer this model in black and gold, this “micro apple red” one is also pretty nice. It doesn’t look exactly like the real Pontiac Firebird that I earlier blogged about. (It has a rear spoiler, a T-top and a different image on the hood.)

1977 seems to have been a good year for cars. (One of my other favorite cars is the 1977 Lotus Esprit S1.)

1 thought on “’77 Pontiac Firebird”

Leave a Reply

