Jose Rizal @ 150

rizal150
When I went to the Naga City post office last week to look at the philatelic items for sale, I was pleasantly surprised by this Jose Rizal @ 150 souvenir sheet first day cover. At 7.25 by 9.5 inches, it is the largest first day cover I have ever seen. (Click on the image to see a higher resolution version.)

This first day cover is what gave me the idea of limiting my collection to “Philippine stamps on Philippine stamps.” The stamps are unusually (but pleasantly) tall, most likely to fit the monuments they depict.

philpost
At the lower right corner of the back of the envelope is the logo of the Philippine Postal Corporation at the time.

phlpostr
For some reason, I had to pay 12% value added tax for this first day cover and I was given an official receipt for it. (This was not the case for the sheet of 16 stamps that I bought together with it.)

1 thought on “Jose Rizal @ 150”

Leave a Reply

