“Filipinas 2 C. de Peso”

spanishMy friend Patrick and I used to collect stamps when we were young. He gave me the stamp shown on the left.  Based on what I’ve seen on the website The Philippine Philatelist, it seems to be a Philippine stamp issued during the reign of Alfonso XIII, King of Spain from 1886 to 1931, when the Philippines was a Spanish colony.  I’m trying to identify it.  Four candidates are shown below (from left to right):  a 2 centavos violet issued February 1, 1892, a 2 centavos dark brown issued January 1, 1894, a 2 centavos ultramarine issued January 1, 1896, and a 2 centavos gray brown issued January 1, 1896. (Click on the pictures to see where I got them.)  I think my stamp is a violet one.

 

1 thought on ““Filipinas 2 C. de Peso””

Leave a Reply

