HP 35s

(Originally posted at http://joelnoche.multiply.com/journal/item/94/HP-35s on March 22, 2012 2:41 AM)

When I was a child, I would read 1970s issues of Scientific American that my father bought and I would see advertisements for Hewlett-Packard calculators.  They were quite unusual; they used reverse Polish notation and some of them, like the HP-12C, had a horizontal layout.  It was one of my childhood dreams to own one someday.

In 1972, Hewlett-Packard released the world’s first scientific pocket calculator, the HP-35 (which got its name because it had 35 keys).  In 2007, Hewlett-Packard celebrated the 35th anniversary of the HP-35 by releasing the HP 35s.  (I got the picture on the left from here.)

Last 2008, my friend Gilbert gave me an HP 35s.  It came with a carrying case and two CD-ROMs:  a user’s guide and a video with the title “The HP Calculator Story 1972-2007.”  What I like most about the HP 35s is its retro look and its sloped-front keys (you have to press them to fully appreciate them).  Another nice thing about it is that its two batteries can be replaced one at a time without erasing the calculator’s memory.

More information about the HP 35s can be found in this datasheet and this user guide.  HP also makes an HP 35s emulator for Windows.

Leave a Reply

