Beck

(Originally posted at http://joelnoche.multiply.com/journal/item/41/Beck on February 28, 2011 7:29 AM)

A few days ago, I bought David Quantick’s Beck (Thunder’s Mouth Press, 2000) at a BOOKSALE for 45 pesos.  It is “an insightful biography, a comprehensive discography, and an evaluation of Beck’s position among the greats of rock music.”  It gave me some information I previously didn’t know, for example, that Beck was born Bek David Campbell (yes, without a “c”; he became Beck Hansen when his parents divorced) (p. 1) and that ‘Deadweight’ (one of my favorite Beck songs) was specially written for the movie A Life Less Ordinary (p. 89).

I first learned about Beck through his song ‘Loser’ when it first came out.  My sister bought his album Mellow Gold, but didn’t like it that much.  I saw the music video of ‘Where It’s At’ and decided to buy his album Odelay.  It was one of the best albums I had ever heard (even better than Edie Brickell & New Bohemians’ Shooting Rubberbands at the Stars and as good as the B-52’s Cosmic Thing).  It seems that I’m not the only one with this opinion.  Quantick writes “Critically, Odelay was liked by everybody in the world,” (p. 65) “There is not a bad track on Odelay,” and “Odelay is one of those albums where everything sounds like a great single, and several tracks in fact are great singles” (p. 66).

After Mutations and Midnite Vultures, I somewhat lost interest.  I bought Sea Change but didn’t even listen to it.

I’m currently in the process of letting go of most of my personal belongings and I’m looking for a good home for my Beck CD’s.  I have nine of them—the five mentioned above and the four shown below.  Contact me if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

