Roy Lichtenstein

(Originally posted at http://joelnoche.multiply.com/journal/item/32/Roy-Lichtenstein on December 9, 2010 8:35 AM)

Roy Lichtenstein is one of my favorite pop artists.  I have two books that contain his work.

I bought Lichtenstein: Drawings & Prints (Wellfleet Books, 1988) at a National Book Store in the early 1990’s (I think).  While other art books cost more than a thousand pesos, I was elated to purchase this book for around 300 pesos (if I remember correctly).

The other book was given to me by my friend, Eduardo, much later.  Roy Lichtenstein’s ABC (Bullfinch Press, 1999) is a “mini-retrospective” for “art lovers, letter lovers, and those just cutting their teeth on the alphabet.”

The studies (Study for Nurse, 1964; Study for Frightened Girl, 1964) are from the Drawings & Prints book, while the paintings (Nurse, 1964; Frightened Girl, 1964) are from the ABC book.

1 thought on “Roy Lichtenstein”

Leave a Reply

