Komiks (Blg. 1)

(Originally posted at http://joelnoche.multiply.com/journal/item/16/Komiks-Blg.-1 on August 22, 2010 9:48 AM)

A few years ago I decided to look for some local “komiks.”  Note the spelling; I would say that “komiks” are written for the masses while “comics” are targeted at the more elite crowd.  They used to be found at newsstands in public markets, but everywhere I went, I could no longer find them.  I finally found a person at a newsstand in a public market in Quezon City, who had no komiks on display, but when I asked him if he had any, he reached inside his cabinet and brought out the six issues below.

They are dated 1992, 1993, and 1994. Note that the prices on the covers have been covered with blank price stickers. That’s the way I got them. Some of the actual cover prices have been marked over with a pen, but a few of them could be seen: 5 pesos, 6 pesos. I forgot the price that the man at the newsstand wanted for each issue (20 or 25 pesos, I think), but I considered it a very good price, as I was actually willing to pay up to 100 pesos for each.

It’s hard to describe the condition of the issues, considering that the paper is newsprint and was never white to begin with, but I would say that all of the issues are from fine to very fine. (The condition of a comic book is rated from Poor, Fair, Good, Very Good, Fine, Very Fine, Near Mint, to Mint.)

Some of the komiks came out once a week, while others came out twice a week. Some (Pilipino Komiks, True Horoscope Stories, Extra Special Komiks) have 32 pages; others (Superstar) have 48 (counting the covers). In all cases, only the first 8 and the last 8 pages are in color; the rest are in black, white, and shades of red.

I’m very interested in when, how, and why the publication of komiks stopped.  If you have any information, please comment.  Thanks.

Leave a Reply

